Molly’s European Year: a Recap in Words and Pictures

I will be leaving Austria in exactly one week. After that, I have a two day layover in Iceland, but then it’s home sweet home (Alabama) for Christmas. I’ve been trying for a few weeks now to find the best way to capture the magical insanity that has been the last thirteen months of my life in a fitting capstone entry for this blog. I’m not sure that I’ve found it, but at least I’m staying true to myself and my love of organization. It’s time for some lists.

Firstly, by the numbers:

  • 13 months
  • 16 European countries
  • 4 trips lasting a week or longer
  • 48 long weekend or day trips
  • 60 different cities/towns

More details?

Here are all the trips I made this year, in chronological order.

November 2013

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

London, England; Krenglbach, Austria; Wels, Austria (I live 10 minutes from here, so I’m just listing it for the first time I visited.); Rome, Italy

December 2013

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Vienna, Austria; Budapest, Hungary; Linz, Austria (I live half an hour from here, so again, just the first visit is noted); Eferding, Austria; Nuremberg, Germany; Christkindl, Austria; Salzburg, Austria; Berlin, Germany

January 2014

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Graz, Austria; Innsbruck, Austria

February 2014

DSC08040

Prague, Czech Republic; Gmunden, Austria

March 2014

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Passau, Germany; Zurich, Switzerland; Wachau Valley, Austria (including Melk, Spitz and Durnstein)

April 2014

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Prague, Czech Republic; Vienna, Austria; Amsterdam, the Netherlands

May 2014

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Venice, Italy (and Burano); Florence, Italy; Hallstatt, Austria

June 2014

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ljubljana, Slovenia; Zagreb, Croatia; Traunfall, Austria; Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic; Frankfurt, Germany; Cologne, Germany; the Rhine Valley (including Rheinfalls Castle, St. Goar, and Bacharach); Munich, Germany; Fussen, Germany (Neuschwanstein Castle); Salzburg, Austria; Vienna, Austria

July 2014

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bratislava, Slovakia; Vienna, Austria; Wolfgangsee, Austria; Bad Ischl, Austria; Gosausee, Austria; Eisenstadt, Austria; Gmunden, Austria; Traunkirchen, Austria; Vaduz, Liechtenstein; Feldkirch, Austria; Lindau, Germany; Bregenz, Austria; Innsbruck, Austria

August 2014

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Vienna, Austria; Budapest, Hungary; Bad Ischl, Austria; Klagenfurt, Austria; Lindau, Germany; Bregenz, Austria; Kufstein, Austria; Wachau Valley, Austria (bike ride 40km from Melk to Krems)

September 2014

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oslo, Norway; Stockholm, Sweden; Copenhagen, Denmark; Roskilde, Denmark; Odense, Denmark; Helsingor, Denmark; Hamburg, Germany; Bremen, Germany; Krakow, Poland; Chiemsee, Germany

October 2014

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Vienna Austria (x2); Munich, Germany; Salzburg, Austria

November 2014

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Krakow, Poland; Vienna, Austria; Prague, Czech Republic

December 2014

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Vienna, Austria; Bratislava, Slovakia; to come… Reykjavik, Iceland!

But Molly, weren’t you an au pair?

Yes, actually, I did more than just travel around Europe for a year. I became a part of an amazing, loving family, I made some incredible friends, and I built a life, here in Upper Austria. Some highlights:

My first Christmas away from home.

DSC06591

Nina’s birth in February.

DSC07369

Celebrating Fasching (Mardi Gras) with Anna.

DSC08114

Volunteering at LISA Junior, an English language primary school in Linz.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dyeing Easter eggs with the extended family.

DSC09231

My host dad teaching me how to ride a moped.

DSC09130

Visiting the Grottenbahn (a fairy-tale train ride in Linz).

DSC09706

Nina’s baptism in June.

IMG_4987

My first time picking strawberries.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Exploring Germany with my friend Caitlin, from home.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Taking Anna to the zoo every Wednesday of the summer.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Endless day trips and adventures with my friend Julie, because we both had summer rail passes for Austria.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Seeing Mozart’s “The Magic Flute” on the floating stage on Lake Constance.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Biking 40km down the Danube from Melk to Krems.

10734236_10203955778947096_1244334302105984455_n

 

Taking a three week trip in September because of my amazing amount of vacation time. Yay, Austria!

wpid-p9080880.jpg

The visit from my college friend, Brittany, in October.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A surprise Sacher torte on my birthday!

DSC04365

Carving a pumpkin with Anna for Halloween.

10394842_10203992410582864_6209457996684508736_n

Joining the Lantern procession for St. Martin’s Day

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Having a glamorous night at the Red Cross Ball in Vienna in November.

10629649_10203104641640104_3447155632873593817_n

 

Thanksgiving in Prague, with my friend Brandi and her family.

10734216_10204152467304182_5611857863444014211_n

Baking Christmas cookies with the extended family.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Meeting St. Nikolaus in play group.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Enjoying Christmas markets with friends.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

It’s been an incredible year of traveling, of friendship, of learning new things. I couldn’t be more thankful for all I have experienced. Until the next adventure– auf Wiederschauen! 

Leave a Reply

