Austrian Landmarks/ Wahrzeichen

July 2014


This weekend, I finally achieved a long-term goal: visiting the capitals of all nine Austrian Federal States. Each capital city has its own Wahrzeichen or landmark symbol. 

Here they are: Festung Hohensalzburg, Salzburg; Stephansdom, Vienna; Uhrturm, Graz; Goldenes Dachl, Innsbruck; Pöstlingberg, Linz; Rathaus, St. Pölten; Schloss Esterhazy, Eisenstadt; Martinsturm, Bregenz; and der Lindwurm, Klagenfurt. 

I’ve never planned on visiting all 50 US States, but now that I have such a feeling of accomplishment from seeing all the corners of Austria, maybe I’ll add that to the list! 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: